I love creating concept maps, mind maps and anything else where I get to put down my thoughts randomly! I have done this throughout my life and especially during the last three years in uni. I find a concept map / mind map enables me to put down all my thoughts and then structure my argument in a more academic minded manner. Louise Rasmussen writes about how concept maps help you learn, something that could be useful for students to learn. Joshua Redford, Keith Thiede, Jennifer Wiley and Thomas Griffin did a study on how concept maps can improve metacomprehension accuracy among 7th Graders and this is what they found:

“A concept map is a graphic representation of the underlying structure of the text, the act of constructing a concept map helps readers form connections among concepts in a text” (2012, p. 3).

I do use concept maps in the classroom when I am teaching. I find this to be a powerful way for students to reach a better understanding of the topic. This can be done just by using the interactive whiteboard or even just getting students up to the whiteboard (who doesn’t love to come up and write on the board!!) and put down their ideas in a brainstorming session. I then show how this can be linked together and how to use it effectively to create your argument. There are many software’s to be used in the classroom such as Inspiration Software, Kidspiration and Webspiration Classroom. If you have time, read this page on Teaching and Learning with concepts maps.

After reading Kim’s blog about her concept map and her experience with Gliffy and bubbl.us, I decided to stick with what I know best. I use MindNode Pro as I find this is an easy software to use and allows me to brainstorm and then organise my thoughts in an intuitive manner. Of course, I have a Mac (love Apple products) and I have never had an issue. If anything, I take way too long as I enjoy creating them!

Below is my concept map on why (not) to use ICT in the classroom. Would love to hear any comments or feedback.

ICT usage in the classroom

——–

References

Rasmussen, L. (2015). 3 Ways concept maps help you learn. Retrieved March 15, 2016, from http://thinkeracademy.com/3-ways-concept-maps-help-you-learn/

Redford, J., Thiede, K., Wiley, J., & Griffin, T. (2012). Concept mapping improves metacomprehension accuracy among 7th graders Learning and Instruction, 22 (4), 262-270 DOI: 10.1016/j.learninstruc.2011.10.007

Image credit: Tobyotter

Leave a Reply

